Filling the Prescription for Health

One of my goals for 2014 is to work on my physical health. In the last year, I have become a couch potato! I lost one of my closest friends and spent the months prior to her death by her side filling up on comfort foods (oh, the tuna melts from the deli). Grief is a funny thing. I was overwrought, depressed. I can’t tell you how many people told me that it was “finally over for her”. It never occurred to me that “it” was just beginning for me!

As I emerge from this initial phase of grief I am aware of the disconnect between my mind and my body. I have been guilty of misuse and abuse. BUT awareness IS a powerful tool. I CAN choose to use it as a weapon, beating myself up over everything I’VE DONE “wrong”; or I CAN use IT as an opportunity to make necessary changes.

I bought my husband this awesome CD series on ancient civilizations. When I found it, I also discovered another series on Natural Healing. Merry Christmas me! I’ve made the commitment to 30 minutes of listening a day.

e3s-pills

Today, among other things, I was introduced to the term“Ill to the pill.” This is the simplistic term used to describe the way most of us in the Western Hemisphere have practiced medicine. Don’t get me wrong, I am the daughter of doctor, I see a great physician and get topnotch medical care. Here’s the catch: How do we go beyond treating the symptom and begin treating the cause? Is there more to my elevated cholesterol than just taking a statin?

I have spent years strictly adhering to prescriptions, never questioning a doctors orders or authority. It was the friend I lost who taught me, by example, that questioning and studying for myself can be beneficial. I am convinced that I need to start participating in my own health care. Why do I need this test?  This pill? If the “experts” say that I only need a PAP smear every other year, but my family history concerns me, why shouldn’t I push for annual PAPs? The CD series I am listening to talks about Integrative Holistic Medicine. It’s defined as looking at the patient as a whole being and making available all forms of care. What if the “prescription” of yoga and/or a vegetarian-based diet were offered as treatment for high cholesterol and blood pressure by all physicians as well as conventional meds.

I’ve talked to many clients who have voiced similar concerns. Often we feel helpless to make changes against a tide of pills and potions designed to “cure” us magically. Can swallowing a pill be the only answer?

To be continued…..

Leave a Reply

